Eritrea 2009-JAN-01 - -   


FREE ERITREA (Khartoum) Exile Eritrean National Alliance : ENA : Abdalla Idriss
ERITREA (Asmara) UNO Member State of ERITREA : President Isaias Afewerki

Other Entities with similar names

State of ERITREA

State of ERITREA

Flag or Logo since 1995-12-05
Hagere ERTRA : ሃገረ ኤርትራ (ti) + Dawlat IRITRĪYA : دولة إرتريا (ar) + State of ERITREA (en) UNO Member
Emblem or Symbol

President Isaias Afewerki
(ruler of ERITREA since 1977-02-01)
Capitals & administrative places: Asmara
Official & national languages: Arabic (ar) . English (en) . Tigrinian (ti) .


ERITREA State of ERITREA  (Asmara)

6 Divisions:

ANSEBA ANSEBA Region  (Keren)Local: Zoba ANSEBA : ዞባ ዓንሰባ (ti) + Mintaqah ANSUBA : منطقة عنسبا (ar) + ANSEBA Region (en) + Zoba ANSEBA (bej) + Zoba ANSEBA (byn) + Zoba ANSEBA : ዞባ ዓንሰባ (tig)  (Keren)
CENTRAL CENTRAL Region : Maakel  (Asmara)Local: Zoba MAEKEL : ዞባ ማእከል (ti) + Al-Mintaqah AL-MARKAZIA : المنطقة المركزية (ar) + CENTRAL Region : Maakel (en)  (Asmera)
GASH-BARKA GASH-BARKA Region  (Barentu)Local: Zoba GASH-BARKA : ዞባ ጋሽ ባርካ (ti) + Mintaqah AL-QASH WA BARAKA : منطقة القاش وبركا (ar) + GASH-BARKA Region (en) + Zoba GASH-BARKA (kun) + Zoba GASH-BARKA (bej) + Zoba GASH-BARKA (nrb) + Zoba GASH-BARKA : ዞባ ጋሽ ባርካ (tig)  (Barentu)
NORTHERN RED SEA NORTHERN RED SEA Region  (Massawa)Local: Zoba SEMIENAWI KEYIH BAHRI : ዞባ ሰሜናዊ ቀይሕ ባሕሪ (ti) + Mintaqah AL-BAHR AL-AHMAR ASH-SHAMAL : منطقة البحر الأحمر الشمال (ar) + NORTHERN RED SEA Region (en) + Zoba SEMIENAWI KEYIH BAHRI : ዞባ ሰሜናዊ ቀይሕ ባሕሪ (tig) + Zoba SEMIENAWI QEYH BAHRI (ssy)  (Massawa)
SOUTHERN SOUTHERN Region  (Mendefera)Local: Zoba DEBUB : ዞባ ደቡብ (ti) + SOUTHERN Region (en) + Al-Mintaqah AL-JANUBIA : المنطقة الجنوبية (ar)  (Mendefera)
SOUTHERN RED SEA SOUTHERN RED SEA Region  (Assab)Local: Zoba DEBUBAWI KEYIH BAHRI : ዞባ ደቡባዊ ቀይሕ ባሕሪ (ti) + Mintaqah AL-BAHR AL-AHMAR AL-JANUB : منطقة البحر الأحمر الجنوب (ar) + SOUTHERN RED SEA Region (en) + Zoba DEBUBAWI QEYH BAHRI (aa)  (Assab)

1 Territory:

HAYCOCK ISLANDS Southwestern Hanish Islets : HAYCOCK ISLANDS  (Haycock)Local: DEBUBI MI´IRABAWI ANISH Yegiranada : ደቡብ ምዕራባዊ እንስ የግራናዳ (ti) + JANUB GHARBI HANISH al-Fshwt : جنوب غربي حنيش الفشوت (ar) + SOUTHWESTERN HANISH Islets (en)  (Haycock)

1 Government or Movement in Exile

OROMO Oromo Liberation Front : OLF  (Asmara + Qoryoley) Daud Ibsa Ayana

53 Organisations or Groupings membership (selective)

AFRICAN BANK African Development Bank : AFDB  (Tunis)
AFRICAN CARIBBEAN AND PACIFIC STATES African Caribbean and Pacific Group of States : ACP STATES  (Brussels)
AFRICAN UNION African Union : AU  (Addis Ababa o + Midrand l + Arusha j + Dar Es Salaam kn)
CHEMICAL WEAPONS PROHIBITION Organization for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons : OPCW  (The Hague)
COMESA Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa : COMESA  (Lusaka)
CUSTOMS World Customs Organization : WCO  (Brussels)
FAO Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations : FAO Specialized Agency  (Rome)
FIFA Federation of International Football Association : FIFA  (Zurich)
FRANCE-AFRICA Conference of Heads of State of Africa and France : FRANCE-AFRICA Summit  (Cannes)
GLOBAL FUND The Global Fund to Fight Aids Tuberculosis and Malaria : GFATM  (Vernier-Geneva)
GROUP OF SEVENTY-SEVEN GROUP OF SEVENTY-SEVEN at the United Nations [Coalition of Developing Countries]  (New York)
HAGUE CONVENTION Permanent Court of Arbitration : PCA  (The Hague)
IAEA International Atomic Energy Agency : IAEA Specialized Agency  (Vienna)
IBRD International Bank for Reconstruction and Development : IBRD  (Washington-District of Columbia)
ICAO International Civil Aviation Organization : ICAO Specialized Agency  (Montreal)
ICJ International Court of Justice : ICJ  (The Hague)
IFAD International Fund for Agricultural Development : IFAD Specialized Agency  (Rome)
ILO International Labour Organization : ILO Specialized Agency  (Geneva)
IMF International Monetary Fund : IMF Specialized Agency  (Washington-District of Columbia)
IMO International Maritime Organization : IMO Specialized Agency  (London)
INTERPOL International Criminal Police Organization : ICPO  (Lyons)
ISO International Organization for Standardization : ISO  (Geneva)
ITU International Telecommunication Union : ITU Specialized Agency  (Geneva)
NON-ALIGNED Non-Aligned Movement : NAM [Coordinating Bureau – Non-Aligned Movement Centre for South-South Technical Cooperation : NAM CSSTC]  (Havana + New York + Jakarta)
NUCLEAR NON-PROLIFERATION Nuclear Non-Proliferation Treaty : NPT  (New York)
NUCLEAR TEST BAN Preparatory Commission for the Comprehensive Nuclear Test Ban Organization : CTBTO [Provisional Secretariat]  (Vienna)
OHCHR Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights : OHCHR Specialized Agency  (Geneva)
OLYMPIC GAMES International Olympic Committee : IOC  (Lausanne)
PELINDABA TREATY African Nuclear Weapon Free Zone Treaty : ANWFZ  (Pelindaba)
SAHEL-SAHARAN STATES Community of Sahel-Saharan States : CEN-SAD  (Tripoli)
SMALL ARMS Regional Centre on Small Arms in the Great Lakes Region the Horn of Africa and Bordering States : RECSA  (Nairobi)
UN-HABITAT United Nations Human Settlements Programme : UN-HABITAT Specialized Agency  (Nairobi)
UNCTAD United Nations Conference on Trade and Development : UNCTAD  (Geneva)
UNDP United Nations Development Programme : UNDP Specialized Agency  (New York)
UNEP United Nations Environmental Programme : UNEP Specialized Agency  (Nairobi)
UNESCO United Nations Educational Scientific and Cultural Organization : UNESCO Specialized Agency  (Paris)
UNFCCC United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change : UNFCCC  (New York)
UNHCR United Nations High Commission for Refugees : UNHCR Agency  (Geneva)
UNICEF United Nations International Children´s Emergency Fund : UNICEF Specialized Agency  (New York)
UNIDIR United Nations Institute for Disarmament Research : UNIDIR Specialized Agency  (Geneva)
UNIDO United Nations Industrial Development Organization : UNIDO Specialized Agency  (Vienna)
UNIFEM United Nations Development Fund for Women : UNIFEM  (New York)
UNITED NATIONS United Nations Organization : UNO  (New York)
UNODC United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime : UNODC Agency  (Vienna)
UNWTO World Tourism Organization : UNWTO Specialized Agency  (Madrid)
UPEACE University for Peace : UPEACE  (Ciudad Colon)
UPU Universal Postal Union : UPU Specialized Agency  (Berne)
WFP World Food Programme : WFP  (Rome)
WHALING International Whaling Commission : IWC  (Impington)
WHO World Health Organization : WHO Specialized Agency  (Pregny-Chambesy)
WIPO World Intellectual Property Organization : WIPO Specialized Agency  (Geneva)
WMO World Meteorological Organization : WMO Specialized Agency  (Geneva)

Other Territories or Entities within the 2024's internationally recognized Country boundaries:

BADME TRIANGLE BADME TRIANGLE Zone [Ethiopian Occupation]  (Badme)

 Drawn with Inkscape  Written with Notepad++  Powered by Apache Creative Commons License CC-BY Archived since 2003 by Internet Archives
Thank you.
UPDATED ON: ~ 2024-MAY-05 ~ .