Ceylon 1953-JAN-01 - ethnia.org -


(Colombo a + Kandy r) - (London a + Westminster lr + Edinburgh s + Windsor r) -

Dominion of the State of CEYLON

Flag or Logo since 1951-03-02
Dominion of CEYLON (en) De facto Semi-Independent
Emblem or Symbol

Queen Elizabeth II
(ruler of UNITED KINGDOM since 1952-02-06)
Capitals & administrative places: Colombo a + Kandy r
(Colombo + Kandy)
a administrative, national or political capital (also ruler's residence)
r ruler's residence (royal or presidential, primary or secondary)
Official & national languages: English (en) .


CEYLON State of CEYLON  (Colombo + Kandy)

9 Divisions:

CENTRAL CEYLON CENTRAL Province  (Kandy)Local: CENTRAL Province (en)  (Kandy)
EASTERN CEYLON EASTERN Province  (Trincomalee)Local: EASTERN Province (en)  (Trincomalee)
NORTH CENTRAL CEYLON NORTH CENTRAL Province  (Anuradhapura)Local: NORTH CENTRAL Province (en)  (Anuradhapura)
NORTH WESTERN CEYLON NORTH WESTERN Province  (Puttalam)Local: NORTH WESTERN Province (en)  (Puttalam)
NORTHERN CEYLON NORTHERN Province  (Jaffna)Local: NORTHERN Province (en)  (Jaffna)
SABARAGAMUWA SABARAGAMUWA Province  (Ratnapura)Local: SABARAGAMUWA Province (en)  (Ratnapura)
SOUTHERN CEYLON SOUTHERN Province  (Galle)Local: SOUTHERN Province (en)  (Galle)
UVA WELLASSA UVA WELLASSA Province  (Badulla)Local: UVA WELLASSA Province (en)  (Badulla)
WESTERN CEYLON WESTERN Province  (Colombo)Local: WESTERN Province (en)  (Colombo)

1 Assisted Country

MALDIVE ISLANDS Republic of the MALDIVE ISLANDS  (Male) President Muhammad Amin Didi

23 Organisations or Groupings membership (selective)

COLOMBO PLAN COLOMBO PLAN for Co-operative Economic Development in South and South-East Asia  (Colombo)
FAO Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations : FAO Specialized Agency  (Rome)
FIFA Federation of International Football Association : FIFA  (Zurich)
GATT General Agreement on Tariffs and Trade : GATT  (Villa Bocage)
IBRD International Bank for Reconstruction and Development : IBRD  (Washington-District of Columbia)
ICAO International Civil Aviation Organization : ICAO Specialized Agency  (Montreal)
ILO International Labour Organization : ILO Specialized Agency  (Geneva)
IMF International Monetary Fund : IMF Specialized Agency  (Washington-District of Columbia)
INTER-PARLIAMENTARY UNION Inter-Parliamentary Union : IPU  (Geneva)
INTERPOL INTERPOL Organization  (Saint Cloud)
ITU International Telecommunication Union : ITU Specialized Agency  (Geneva)
LEAGUE OF RED CROSS League of Red Cross Societies : LORCS  (Geneva)
OLYMPIC GAMES International Olympic Committee : IOC  (Lausanne)
PEACE World Peace Council : WPC  (East Berlin)
RED CROSS International Committee of the Red Cross : ICRC  (Geneva)
THERAVADA BUDDHISM Teaching of Little Vehicle Buddhism : THERAVADA BUDDHISM  (Sarnath)
UNESCO United Nations Educational Scientific and Cultural Organization : UNESCO Specialized Agency  (Paris)
UPU Universal Postal Union : UPU Specialized Agency  (Berne)
WHO World Health Organization : WHO Specialized Agency  (Pregny-Chambesy)
WMO World Meteorological Organization : WMO Specialized Agency  (Lausanne)
WORLD BUSINESS International Chamber of Commerce : ICC [The Word Business Organization]  (Paris)
WORLD TOURISM International Union of Official Travel Organizations : IUOTO  (Geneva)

Other Territories or Entities within the 2024's internationally recognized Country boundaries:


 Drawn with Inkscape  Written with Notepad++  Powered by Apache  ethnia.org Creative Commons License CC-BY Archived since 2003 by Internet Archives
Thank you.
UPDATED ON: ~ 2024-JUN-09 ~ .