Ceylon 1963-SEP-30 - ethnia.org -


(Colombo a + Kandy r) - (London a + Westminster lr + Edinburgh s + Windsor r) -

Dominion of the State of CEYLON

Flag or Logo since 1951-03-02
Dominion of CEYLON (en) + LAṁKĀ ḍomīniyan rājyaya : ලංකා ඩොමීනියන් රාජ්‍යය (si) + ILAṅKAI ṭomiṉiyaṉ : இலங்கை மேலாட்சி (ta) UNO Member
Emblem or Symbol

Queen Elizabeth II
(ruler of UNITED KINGDOM since 1952-02-06)
Capitals & administrative places: Colombo a + Kandy r
(Colombo + Kandy)
a administrative, national or political capital (also ruler's residence)
r ruler's residence (royal or presidential, primary or secondary)
Official & national languages: English (en) . Sinhalese (si) . Tamil (ta) .


CEYLON Dominion of CEYLON  (Colombo + Kandy)

9 Divisions:

CENTRAL CEYLON CENTRAL Province  (Kandy)Local: CENTRAL Province (en) + Madhyama Palata : MAKHAYMA – මධ්‍යම පළාත (si) + Malaiyakam Maakaanam : MATTIYA Mākāṇam : மத்திய மாகாணம் (ta) + CENTRAL Province (en)  (Kandy)
EASTERN CEYLON EASTERN Province  (Trincomalee)Local: EASTERN Province (en) + KIL̮AKKU Mākāṇam : கிழக்கு மாகாணம் (ta) + Næ̆gĕnahira Paḷāta : NEGENAHIRA Palata – නැගෙනහිර පළාත (si)  (Trincomalee)
NORTH CENTRAL CEYLON NORTH CENTRAL Province  (Anuradhapura)Local: NORTH CENTRAL Province (en) + UTURUMEDA Palata : උතුරු මැද පළාත (si) + Vaṭa Mattiya mākāṇam : WADA MATHTHIYA Maakaanam – வட மத்திய மாகாணம் (ta)  (Anuradhapura)
NORTH WESTERN CEYLON NORTH WESTERN Province  (Puttalam)Local: NORTH WESTERN Province (en) + WAYAMBA Palata : වයඹ පළාත (si) + Vaṭa Mēl Mākāṇam : VADA MAEL Maakaanam – வட மேல் மாகாணம் (ta)  (Puttalam)
NORTHERN CEYLON NORTHERN Province  (Jaffna)Local: NORTHERN Province (en) + Vaṭakku Mākāṇam : VATAKKU Maakaanam – வட மாகாணம் (ta) + UTURU Paḷāta : උතුරු පළාත (si)  (Jaffna)
SABARAGAMUWA SABARAGAMUWA Province  (Ratnapura)Local: SABARAGAMUWA Palata : සබරගමුව පළාත (si) + Caparakamuva Mākāṇam : SABARAGAMUWA Maakaanam – சபரகமுவ மாகாணம் (ta)  (Ratnapura)
SOUTHERN CEYLON SOUTHERN Province  (Galle)Local: SOUTHERN Province (en) + DAKUNU Palata : දකුණු පළාත (si) + Teṉ Mākāṇam : THAEN Maakaanam – தென் மாகாணம் (ta)  (Galle)
UVA UVA Province  (Badulla)Local: UVA Province (en) + UVA Palata : ඌව පළාත (si) + Ūvā Mākāṇam : UVA Maakaanam – ஊவா மாகாணம் (ta)  (Badulla)
WESTERN CEYLON WESTERN Province  (Colombo)Local: WESTERN Province (en) + BASNAHIRA Palata : බස්නාහිර පළාත (si) + Mēl Mākāṇam : MAEL Maakaanam – மேல் மாகாணம் (ta)  (Colombo)

1 Assisted Country

MALDIVE ISLANDS Sultanate of the MALDIVE ISLANDS [British Protectorate]  (Male) Sultan Muhammad Farid Didi

34 Organisations or Groupings membership (selective)

ASIA-AFRICA Asian-African Legal Consultative Committee : AALCC  (New Delhi)
COLOMBO PLAN COLOMBO PLAN for Co-operative Economic Development in South and South-East Asia  (Colombo)
COMMON FUND Common Fund for Commodities : CFC  (Geneva)
FAO Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations : FAO Specialized Agency  (Rome)
FIFA Federation of International Football Association : FIFA  (Zurich)
GATT General Agreement on Tariffs and Trade : GATT  (Villa Bocage)
HAGUE CONVENTION Permanent Court of Arbitration : PCA  (The Hague)
IAEA International Atomic Energy Agency : IAEA Specialized Agency  (Vienna)
IBRD International Bank for Reconstruction and Development : IBRD  (Washington-District of Columbia)
ICAO International Civil Aviation Organization : ICAO Specialized Agency  (Montreal)
ICJ International Court of Justice : ICJ  (The Hague)
ILO International Labour Organization : ILO Specialized Agency  (Geneva)
IMF International Monetary Fund : IMF Specialized Agency  (Washington-District of Columbia)
INTER-PARLIAMENTARY UNION Inter-Parliamentary Union : IPU  (Geneva)
INTERPOL International Criminal Police Organization : ICPO  (Saint Cloud)
ITU International Telecommunication Union : ITU Specialized Agency  (Geneva)
LEAGUE OF RED CROSS League of Red Cross Societies : LORCS  (Geneva)
NON-ALIGNED Non-Aligned Movement : NAM  (Belgrade + New York)
OLYMPIC GAMES International Olympic Committee : IOC  (Lausanne)
PEACE World Peace Council : WPC  (Moscow)
RED CROSS International Committee of the Red Cross : ICRC  (Geneva)
THERAVADA BUDDHISM Teaching of Little Vehicle Buddhism : THERAVADA BUDDHISM  (Sarnath)
UNESCO United Nations Educational Scientific and Cultural Organization : UNESCO Specialized Agency  (Paris)
UNHCR United Nations High Commission for Refugees : UNHCR Agency  (Geneva)
UNICEF United Nations International Children´s Emergency Fund : UNICEF Specialized Agency  (New York)
UNITED NATIONS United Nations Organization : UNO  (New York)
UPU Universal Postal Union : UPU Specialized Agency  (Berne)
WFP Temporary United Nations World Food Programme : WFP  (Rome)
WHO World Health Organization : WHO Specialized Agency  (Pregny-Chambesy)
WMO World Meteorological Organization : WMO Specialized Agency  (Geneva)
WORLD BUSINESS International Chamber of Commerce : ICC [The Word Business Organization]  (Paris)
WORLD TOURISM International Union of Official Travel Organizations : IUOTO  (Geneva)

Other Territories or Entities within the 2024's internationally recognized Country boundaries:


 Drawn with Inkscape  Written with Notepad++  Powered by Apache  ethnia.org Creative Commons License CC-BY Archived since 2003 by Internet Archives
Thank you.
UPDATED ON: ~ 2024-JUN-09 ~ .