South Yemen 1985-FEB-12 - -   


SOUTH YEMEN (Aden) UNO Member People´s Democratic Republic of Yemen : PDRY [Supreme People´s Council] : Abdul Fattah Ismail
NORTH YEMEN (Sanaa) UNO Member Yemen Arab Republic : YAR : President Ali Abdullah Saleh

Other Entities with similar names

People´s Democratic Republic of Yemen : PDRY [Supreme People´s Council]

People´s Democratic Republic of Yemen : PDRY
[Supreme People´s Council]

Flag or Logo since 1967-11-30
Jumhūrīyat al-YAMAN ad-Dīmuqrāṭīyah ash-Sha´bīyah : جمهورية اليَمَنْ الديمُقراطية الشَعْبِيّة (ar) + People´s Democratic Republic of YEMEN (en) UNO Member
Emblem or Symbol

Abdul Fattah Ismail
(ruler of SOUTH YEMEN since 1985-02-12)
Capitals & administrative places: Aden
Official & national languages: Arabic (ar) . English (en) .


YEMEN ADEN People´s Democratic Republic of Yemen : PDRY  (Aden)

6 Divisions:

ABYAN ABYAN Governorate  (Zinjibar)Local: Muhafazah ABYAN : محافظة أبين (ar)  (Zingibar)
ADEN ADEN Governorate  (Aden)Local: Muhafazah ´ADAN : محافظة عدن (ar)  (´Adan)
HADRAMAUT HADRAMAUT Governorate  (Mukalla)Local: Muhafazah HADHRAMAWT : محافظات حضرموت‎ (ar)  (Al-Mukalla)
LAHEJ LAHEJ Governorate  (Houta-Lahej The Green)Local: Muhafazah LAHIJ : محافظة لحج (ar)  (Al-Hawtah Lahij Al-Khathra)
MAHRA MAHRA Governorate  (Ghayda)Local: Muhafazah AL-MAHRAH : محافظة المهرة (ar)  (Al-Ghaydah)
SHABWA SHABWA Governorate  (Ataq)Local: Muhafazah SHABWAH : محافظة شبوة (ar)  (´Ataq)

37 Organisations or Groupings membership (selective)

ARAB LEAGUE League of Arab States : ARAB LEAGUE  (Tunis)
FAO Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations : FAO Specialized Agency  (Rome)
FIFA Federation of International Football Association : FIFA  (Zurich)
IBRD International Bank for Reconstruction and Development : IBRD  (Washington-District of Columbia)
ICAO International Civil Aviation Organization : ICAO Specialized Agency  (Montreal)
ICJ International Court of Justice : ICJ  (The Hague)
IFAD International Fund for Agricultural Development : IFAD Specialized Agency  (Rome)
ILO International Labour Organization : ILO Specialized Agency  (Geneva)
IMF International Monetary Fund : IMF Specialized Agency  (Washington-District of Columbia)
IMO International Maritime Organization : IMO Specialized Agency  (London)
INTER-PARLIAMENTARY UNION Inter-Parliamentary Union : IPU  (Geneva)
INTERSPUTNIK International Organization of Space Communications INTERSPUTNIK  (Moscow)
ISESCO Islamic Educational Scientific and Cultural Organization : ISESCO  (Rabat)
ISLAM Organization of the Islamic Conference : OIC  (Jedda)
ISLAMIC BANK Islamic Development Bank : IDB  (Jedda)
ITU International Telecommunication Union : ITU Specialized Agency  (Geneva)
NON-ALIGNED Non-Aligned Movement : NAM  (New Delhi + New York)
NUCLEAR NON-PROLIFERATION Nuclear Non-Proliferation Treaty : NPT  (New York)
OLYMPIC GAMES International Olympic Committee : IOC  (Lausanne)
RED CROSS International Committee of the Red Cross : ICRC  (Geneva)
RESILIENCE FRONT Steadfastness and Confrontation Front : RESILIENCE FRONT  (Tripoli)
UN-HABITAT United Nations Human Settlements Programme : UN-HABITAT Specialized Agency  (Nairobi)
UNCTAD United Nations Conference on Trade and Development : UNCTAD  (Geneva)
UNDP United Nations Development Programme : UNDP Specialized Agency  (New York)
UNEP United Nations Environmental Programme : UNEP Specialized Agency  (Nairobi)
UNESCO United Nations Educational Scientific and Cultural Organization : UNESCO Specialized Agency  (Paris)
UNHCR United Nations High Commission for Refugees : UNHCR Agency  (Geneva)
UNICEF United Nations International Children´s Emergency Fund : UNICEF Specialized Agency  (New York)
UNIDIR United Nations Institute for Disarmament Research : UNIDIR Specialized Agency  (Geneva)
UNIFEM United Nations Development Fund for Women : UNIFEM  (New York)
UNITED NATIONS United Nations Organization : UNO  (New York)
UPEACE University for Peace : UPEACE  (Ciudad Colon)
UPU Universal Postal Union : UPU Specialized Agency  (Berne)
WFP World Food Programme : WFP  (Rome)
WHO World Health Organization : WHO Specialized Agency  (Pregny-Chambesy)
WMO World Meteorological Organization : WMO Specialized Agency  (Geneva)
WORLD TOURISM World Tourism Organization : WTOO  (Madrid)

Other Independent or Semi-Independent Polities within the 2024's internationally recognized Country boundaries:

NORTH YEMEN Yemen Arab Republic : YAR  (Sanaa)

Other Territories or Entities within the 2024's internationally recognized Country boundaries:

HAMZA LINE ZONE Demilitarized Zone of HAMZA LINE  (Hamza)
HANISH Disputed Islands of HANISH  (Hanish Al-Kebir)
HAYCOCK ISLANDS Southwestern Hanish Islets : HAYCOCK ISLANDS  (Haycock)

 Drawn with Inkscape  Written with Notepad++  Powered by Apache Creative Commons License CC-BY Archived since 2003 by Internet Archives
Thank you.
UPDATED ON: ~ 2024-JUN-09 ~ .