Mauritius 1992-MAR-12 - -   


Republic of MAURITIUS
(Port Louis a + Reduit in Moka r)

Republic of MAURITIUS

Flag or Logo since 1968-03-12
Republic of MAURITIUS (en)w + République de MAURICE (fr)w UNO Member
Emblem or Symbol

President Sir Veerasamy Ringadoo
(ruler of MAURITIUS since 1992-03-12)
Capitals & administrative places: Port Louis a + Reduit in Moka r
(Port Louis + Reduit)
a administrative, national or political capital (also ruler's residence)
r ruler's residence (royal or presidential, primary or secondary)
Official & national languages: English (en) . French (fr) .
w recognized, diplomatic or working language at national level


MAURITIUS Republic of MAURITIUS  (Port Louis + Reduit in Moka)

8 Divisions:

BLACK RIVER BLACK RIVER District  (Tamarin)Local: RIVIÈRE NOIRE District (en) + District de RIVIÈRE NOIRE (fr)  (Tamarin)
GRAND PORT GRAND PORT District  (Rose Belle)Local: GRAND PORT District (en) + District de GRAND PORT (fr)  (Rose Belle)
MOKA-FLACQ MOKA-FLACQ District  (Quartier Militaire)Local: MOKA-FLACQ District (en) + District de MOKA-FLACQ (fr)  (Quartier Militaire)
PAMPLEMOUSSES PAMPLEMOUSSES District  (Triolet)Local: PAMPLEMOUSSES District (en) + District de PAMPLEMOUSSES (fr)  (Triolet)
PLAINES WILHEMS PLAINES WILHEMS District  (Beau Bassin-Rose Hill)Local: PLAINES WILHEMS District (en) + District de PLAINES WILHEMS (fr)  (Beau Bassin-Rose Hill)
PORT LOUIS PORT LOUIS District  (Port Louis)Local: PORT LOUIS District (en) + District de PORT-LOUIS (fr)  (Port Louis)
RIVIERE DU REMPART RIVIERE DU REMPART District  (Mapou)Local: RIVIÈRE DU REMPART District (en) + District de RIVIÈRE DU REMPART (fr)  (Mapou)
SAVANNE SAVANNE District  (Souillac)Local: SAVANNE District (en) + District de SAVANNE (fr)  (Souillac)

2 Territories:

RODRIGUES ISLAND RODRIGUES ISLAND Council  (Port Mathurin)Local: RODRIGUES ISLAND Council (en) + Conseil de l´ÎLE RODRIGUES (fr)  (Port Mathurin)

54 Organisations or Groupings membership (selective)

AFRICAN BANK African Development Bank : AFDB  (Abidjan)
AFRICAN CARIBBEAN AND PACIFIC STATES African Caribbean and Pacific Group of States : ACP STATES  (Brussels)
AFRICAN NATURE African Convention on the Conservation of Nature and Natural Resources : CONVENTION ON CONSERVATION  (Algiers)
AFRICAN UNITY Organization of African Unity : OAU  (Addis Ababa)
AOSIS Alliance of Small Island States : AOSIS  (New York)
ASIA-AFRICA Asian-African Legal Consultative Committee : AALCC  (New Delhi)
CUSTOMS Customs Cooperation Council : CCC  (Brussels)
EASTERN AND SOUTHERN AFRICA Preferential Trade Area for Eastern and Southern Africa : PTA  (Bujumbura)
FAO Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations : FAO Specialized Agency  (Rome)
FIFA Federation of International Football Association : FIFA  (Zurich)
FRANCE-AFRICA Conference of Heads of State of Africa and France : FRANCE-AFRICA Summit  (La Baule-Escoublac)
FRANCOPHONE STATES Agency for Cultural and Technical Co-operation : ACCT  (Paris)
GATT General Agreement on Tariffs and Trade : GATT  (Villa Bocage)
GROUP OF SEVENTY-SEVEN GROUP OF SEVENTY-SEVEN at the United Nations [Coalition of Developing Countries]  (New York)
HAGUE CONVENTION Permanent Court of Arbitration : PCA  (The Hague)
IAEA International Atomic Energy Agency : IAEA Specialized Agency  (Vienna)
IBRD International Bank for Reconstruction and Development : IBRD  (Washington-District of Columbia)
ICAO International Civil Aviation Organization : ICAO Specialized Agency  (Montreal)
ICJ International Court of Justice : ICJ  (The Hague)
IFAD International Fund for Agricultural Development : IFAD Specialized Agency  (Rome)
ILO International Labour Organization : ILO Specialized Agency  (Geneva)
IMF International Monetary Fund : IMF Specialized Agency  (Washington-District of Columbia)
IMO International Maritime Organization : IMO Specialized Agency  (London)
INDIAN OCEAN Secretariat of Indian Ocean Commission : IOC  (Port Louis)
INTELSAT International Telecommunications Satellite Organization : INTELSAT  (Washington-District of Columbia)
INTERPOL International Criminal Police Organization : ICPO  (Lyons)
ITU International Telecommunication Union : ITU Specialized Agency  (Geneva)
NON-ALIGNED Non-Aligned Movement : NAM  (Belgrade + New York)
NUCLEAR NON-PROLIFERATION Nuclear Non-Proliferation Treaty : NPT  (New York)
OLYMPIC GAMES International Olympic Committee : IOC  (Lausanne)
RED CROSS International Committee of the Red Cross : ICRC  (Geneva)
RED CROSS AND RED CRESCENT International Federation of Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies : IFRCS  (Geneva)
SOUTH SOUTH Commission  (Caracas)
UN-HABITAT United Nations Human Settlements Programme : UN-HABITAT Specialized Agency  (Nairobi)
UNCTAD United Nations Conference on Trade and Development : UNCTAD  (Geneva)
UNDP United Nations Development Programme : UNDP Specialized Agency  (New York)
UNEP United Nations Environmental Programme : UNEP Specialized Agency  (Nairobi)
UNESCO United Nations Educational Scientific and Cultural Organization : UNESCO Specialized Agency  (Paris)
UNHCR United Nations High Commission for Refugees : UNHCR Agency  (Geneva)
UNICEF United Nations International Children´s Emergency Fund : UNICEF Specialized Agency  (New York)
UNIDIR United Nations Institute for Disarmament Research : UNIDIR Specialized Agency  (Geneva)
UNIDO United Nations Industrial Development Organization : UNIDO Specialized Agency  (Vienna)
UNIFEM United Nations Development Fund for Women : UNIFEM  (New York)
UNITED NATIONS United Nations Organization : UNO  (New York)
UNOOSA Treaty on Principles Governing the Activities of States in the Exploration and Use of Outer Space including the Moon and Other Celestial Bodies : OUTER SPACE Treaty  (Vienna)
UPEACE University for Peace : UPEACE  (Ciudad Colon)
UPU Universal Postal Union : UPU Specialized Agency  (Berne)
WFP World Food Programme : WFP  (Rome)
WHO World Health Organization : WHO Specialized Agency  (Pregny-Chambesy)
WIPO World Intellectual Property Organization : WIPO Specialized Agency  (Geneva)
WMO World Meteorological Organization : WMO Specialized Agency  (Geneva)
WORLD TOURISM World Tourism Organization : WTOO  (Madrid)

Other Territories or Entities within the 2024's internationally recognized Country boundaries:

BRITISH INDIAN OCEAN TERRITORY British Dependent Territory of British Indian Ocean Territory : BIOT  ((Camp Justice on Diego Garcia))
DIEGO GARCIA DIEGO GARCIA Permanent Joint Operating Base  (Camp Justice on Diego Garcia a)
SAYA DE MALHA Principality of SAYA DE MALHA  (Saya of Malha)

 Drawn with Inkscape  Written with Notepad++  Powered by Apache Creative Commons License CC-BY Archived since 2003 by Internet Archives
Thank you.
UPDATED ON: ~ 2024-MAY-05 ~ .